Super Bowl
Future Dates & Cities

Super Bowl XLIX
Date: Feb. 1st, 2015
University of Phoenix Stadium
Glendale, Az.

Super Bowl L (50th Edition)
Date: 2016
Levi's Stadium
San Francisco, Ca.

Super Bowl LI
Date: 2017
Reliant Stadium
Houston, Tx.

Super Bowl LII
Date: 2018
Minneapolis, MN.

Let us know your opinion on which city should host the 2019 Super Bowl!

The 2015 Super Bowl is being held on Sunday, February 1st at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, AZ.  University of Phoenix Stadium is the home of the Arizona Cardinals and usually has a capacity of around 63,400 fans, but is expandale to 72,000. After the outdoor experience in 2014, the game will be back in a temperature controlled stadium.

This will be the third Super Bowl held in Phoenix area and the second held in University of Phoenix Stadium. The first one was played in Sun Devil Stadium at Arizona State University. 

Golden Sports Tours has been located in the Dallas area since 1988. As part of our 2015 Super Bowl Travel Packages, we can provide a packagae to fit your individual needs and budget. We also offer the Touchdown Club Tailgate Party near the Stadium.

The Seattle Seahawks won the 2014 Super Bowl in New York City. The Seattle Seahawks built a 22-0 half time lead and extneded that to 36-0 before allowing Denver their only points of the game late in the 3rd Quarter. The Seahawks earned their 1st Super Bowl championship by defeating the Denver Broncos by a score of 43-8 in what will be remembered as the most lopsided Super Bowl to date. Seahawks linebacker Malcolm Smith was named the MVP of Super Bowl XLVIII after a pick 6, recovered fumble and 9 tackles.

The Baltimore Ravens won the 2013 Super Bowl in New Orleans. The Baltimore Ravens held off a late rally by the San Francisco 49ers and earned their 2nd Super Bowl championship by defeating the 49ers by a score of 34-31 in what will be remembered as one of the greatest Super Bowls ever. Ravens quarterback Joe Flacco was named the MVP of Super Bowl XLVII.


Most Super Bowl appearances: 8:
Dallas Cowboys & Pittsburgh Steelers
Most Super Bowl titles: 6 -
Pittsburgh Steelers, followed by the Dallas Cowboys &  San Francisco 49ers with 5 wins each
Most Points in a Super Bowl: 55 -
San Francisco 49ers (Super Bowl XXIV)
Fewest Points in a Super Bowl: 3 -
Miami Dolphins (Super Bowl VI)
Won most Super Bowl MVPs: Joe Montana won 3 MVPs w/
San Francisco 49ers
Played in most Super Bowls: Mike Lodish (6) w/
Denver Broncos & Buffalo Bills
Won most Super Bowls (player): Charles Haley (5) w/
49ers & Cowboys
Won most Super Bowls (coach): Chuck Noll (4) w/
Pittsburgh Steelers
Most Career Points Super Bowl: Jerry Rice (48 points) w/
San Francisco 49ers

The Super Bowl is the championship game of the NFL, that is played between the winner from the AFC and NFC. The first Super Bowl was played on January 15th, 1967 as the game to determine the Champion between the AFL and NFL. The Green Bay Packers won, and Bart Starr was named MVP of Super Bowl I.

A condition of the AFL-NFL Merger was that the winners of each leagues championship game would meet to determine the world champion of American football. But after the NFL's Green Bay Packers convincingly won the first two Super Bowls, some team owners feared that AFL teams could compete with their NFL counterparts. That all changed with perhaps the biggest upset in Super Bowl history, the AFL's New York Jets, led by Joe Namath, defeated the Baltimore Colts in Super Bowl III in Miami. The next year, the AFL's Kansas City Chiefs defeated the NFL's Minnesota Vikings 23-7 and won Super Bowl IV in New Orleans. Since the leagues merged into one in 1970, the Super Bowl has featured the champions of the AFC and NFC.

The team who wins the Super Bowl receives the Vince Lombardi Trophy, named for the coach of the Green Bay Packers, who won the first two Super Bowl games. Following his death in September 1970, the trophy was named the Vince Lombardi Trophy.

It is estimated that some 130-140 million people tune in to watch, at least, some part of the Super Bowl.


Copyright © 1992-2010 Golden Sports Tours, All Rights Reserved.